Dunmow Tennis Club champions crowned

PUBLISHED: 15:18 11 September 2013 | UPDATED: 15:18 11 September 2013

The Dunmow Tennis Club champions.

The Dunmow Tennis Club champions.


CHAMPIONS were crowned and play of a good standard at the annual finals day at Dunmow Tennis Club on Sunday.

Chris Aherne, the defending champion, retained his men’s singles title against Charlie Brown. Charlotte Osborne won the ladies singles for the third time against a former regular winner of the title, Linda Britten.

The men’s doubles was won by Brown and men’s captain Paul Cooper. The ladies doubles saw a first team pairing of Britten and Julia Metson prevail over Pauline Coleman and Osbourne.

The mixed event was won after a hard battle by a next generation pairing of Chris Aherne and Emma Hynds against Jo Pierson and Ollie Clark.

The Club Championship day was well supported with around 50 spectators watching. Members and guests enjoyed food and refreshments while watching tennis which was keenly fought and of a good standard.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Dunmow Broadcast. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Dunmow Broadcast