General Election 2019: Saffron Walden and Braintree voters go to the polls

PUBLISHED: 11:53 12 December 2019 | UPDATED: 11:58 12 December 2019

General election in Uttlesford and Braintree

General election in Uttlesford and Braintree


The Saffron Walden constituency will choose its MP today (Thursday), as four candidates vie for votes in the general election.

Some 103 Uttlesford polling stations opened today at 7am and will close tonight at 10pm.

There are four candidates standing for the constituency, which covers the district of Uttlesford, the Borough of Chelmsford wards of Boreham and The Leighs, Broomfield and The Walthams, Chelmsford Rural West, and Writtle: Thomas van de Bilt (Labour), Mike Hibbs (Liberal Democrats), Coby Wing (Green) and Kemi Badenoch (Conservative).

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Dunmow Broadcast