Name your community heroes, says Essex Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner

PUBLISHED: 15:55 29 January 2018 | UPDATED: 15:55 29 January 2018

Clare Gregory and Sarah Keevil from Crimewatch Wickford, who won last year�s overall award. Picture:

Clare Gregory and Sarah Keevil from Crimewatch Wickford, who won last year�s overall award. Picture:

The Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner for Essex, Roger Hirst, wants to hear about people from across Essex who make an ‘Outstanding Contribution to Community Safety’.

To win an award, you have to demonstrate that the nominee is an exceptional person or group that have gone above and beyond to keep their community safe. They also have to have delivered a project or scheme that has improved the safety of those around them.

The winner will receive £500 to go towards their work in the community and two runners’ up or highly commended winners will also receive £300. There will also be a chance for the people of Essex to vote for the winner of a People’s Choice category from a shortlist of entrants selected by a judging panel. The People’s Choice winner will receive £100.

Nominees can be volunteers or those who work in a professional capacity, delivering a service to the public to keep people safe, prevent crime and protect the most vulnerable people in our communities.

Mr Hirst said: “Each and everyday people across Essex go out of their way to make a positive contribution to their communities. Whether that is through supporting vulnerable people, helping to prevent crime or making our communities safe there are a lot of people going above and beyond to keep their communities safe. I want these awards to recognise those people, to help celebrate the contribution they make and support them in making a difference.”

Previous winners of the award include Crimewatch Wickford group, an online community that makes a real difference to crime prevention in the local area, and Yvonne Weinling, a volunteer for the Clacton Appropriate Adults Service.

The deadline for nominations is 12 noon on Monday, February 26th. Nominations can be submitted by anyone who has benefitted from or witnessed the efforts of the nominees and their work, including managers, colleagues, or members of the public.

Full details of how to nominate are on the Essex PFCC website.

The winners of this year’s award will be announced at the PFCC’s annual conference at Boreham House in Chelmsford on Thursday, March 15th, 2018.

Most Read

Latest from the Dunmow Broadcast