ELECTION: Conservative’s Sir Alan Haselhurst retains Saffron Walden seat

PUBLISHED: 06:40 08 May 2015 | UPDATED: 06:40 08 May 2015

Saffron Walden constituency election winner Sir Alan Haselhurst

Saffron Walden constituency election winner Sir Alan Haselhurst


Sir Alan Haselhurst has retained the Saffron Walden seat, which he has held since 1977.

The Conservative MP won with 32,926 votes, ahead of nearest rival Peter Day, of UKIP.

Mr Day finished the night with 7,935 votes.

Third place went to Jane Berney of Labour, Liberal Democrats’ Mike Hibbs came fourth and fifth and sixth places went to Karmel Stannard, of the Green Party, and Residents for Uttlesford candidate Heather Asker.

The turnout was 71.7 per cent, 0.16 per cent more than in 2010 when 54,484 of the 76,035 constituents voted.

This year, 57,779 votes were cast of the 80,615 electorate.

Sir Alan increased his majority to 24,991.

The result in full: Heather Asker (Residents For Uttlesford) 1,658

Jane Berney (Labour) 6,791

Peter Day (UKIP) 7,935

Alan Haselhurst (Conservative) 32,926

Mike Hibbs (Liberal Democrats) 6,079

Karmel Stannard (Green) 2,174

Most Read

Latest from the Dunmow Broadcast