ELECTION 2015: Dunmow Town Council special

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday, May 7.

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday, May 7. - Credit: Archant

In just two weeks ballot papers will be piling up in black boxes across the district, as constituents decide who will represent them over the next four to five years.

Last week the Broadcast revealed the candidates for 22 district wards, with six different party colours battling for the 39 seats, as well as a number of independent contenders.

Unlike the differing hues of district and national politics, parish and town council candidates are mostly unaffiliated with a political party – with some notable exceptions.

In Uttlesford, only eight of the 65 electoral areas are being contested, meaning candidates of the 57 remaining wards are councillors elect – and will take up their positions following the count on May 8.

Strikingly, only 13 of the 16 seats on Great Dunmow Town Council have been filled, with seven putting themselves forward as independents, including current mayor Jonathan Cadwallader.

Of those wards south of the district, only seats in High Easter, Little Hallingbury and Hatfield Broad Oak – village ward are being contested (see tables).

Town and parish councils have distinct responsibilities from the district and county councils. Dunmow Town Council, for example, provides a number of facilities and services to the town, including allotments, bus shelters and the cemetery.

Most Read

Playing fields and a number of play areas and public open spaces are also managed by the council.

These services are funded by a portion of council tax that is decided on by the town council each year.

Polling stations will be open from 7am-10pm on May 7 for both parliamentary and local elections. The count for local elections is due to take place from 12 noon on May 8.