Dunmow school’s Choreographic Competition brings out the best in talented young dancers

PUBLISHED: 17:09 20 April 2012

HRS Year 9 Solo winner Bronte Davis-Horrey

HRS Year 9 Solo winner Bronte Davis-Horrey


TALENTED dancers came together to showcase their abilities at the fourth annual Helena Romanes School’s Choreographic Competition.

The competition, run over three evenings, saw a variety of performances from students, who had been rehearsing throughout the year in extra-curricular clubs.

Each evening opened with a performance to music from Footloose by pupils from Dunmow St Mary’s Primary School, and choreographed by HRS Sixth Form students Paige O’Brien and Ellie Leaning.

The Jinny Huizar Award for dedication and commitment to dance was created in honour of Mrs Huizar, in recognition of her dance achievements throughout 25 years of teaching at HRS, including the introduction of the Choreographic Competition.

This year, the award was presented to Charlotte Rudin and Faye Headley for their ‘continuous dedication to assisting with lower school dance clubs during and after school, as well as giving up time to assist at local primary schools’.

Louise Judd, head of dance, said, “This was an extra-special year for the competition as we invited pupils from Dunmow St Mary’s to perform with us, which was a huge success.

“I feel it is extremely important to involve the community to share with and work with us on such a joyous occasion.

“All the dancers worked extremely hard to achieve three successful evenings and I am very proud of them all.”

The school welcomed a panel of experienced judges who gave up their time to attend the event. Regular judges Alan and Ruth Greene, Sue Bibb, Jinny Huizar were joined by former HRS students Sam Field and Will Barnes.

Group Dance Winners:

Year 7: Annie Collop, Emily Moverley-Foster, Matilda Rejis, Iona Skelton, Sarah Taylor

Year 8: Louisa Firman, Kayleigh Roberston

Year 9: Katie Hammond, Morgan Sawyer

Year 10: Jordanne Hine

Year 11: Emily Senior

Solo Dance Winners:

Year 7: Sarah Taylor

Year 8: Louisa Firman

Year 9: Bronte Davis-Horrey

Year 10: Faye Headley

Year 11: Emily Senior

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Dunmow Broadcast. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Dunmow Broadcast