Wednesday, January 3, 2018

A teacher who has taught at primary, secondary, further eduction and adult level and then became an Ofsted inspector and is currently an advisor for schools in East Anglia had been awarded an MBE for services to education.

Read more
Newport
Tuesday, January 2, 2018

A fire chief evacuated his own parents as crews battled a major blaze at a Newport home.

Read more
Newport
Sunday, December 31, 2017

Firefighters had to withdraw from a blaze at a Tudor home in Essex this morning after the property became unstable.

Read more
Rescue Service
Thursday, November 16, 2017

A man returned to his Essex home to find a burglar’s car on his drive and the thief inside his house.

Read more
Newport
Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Police are appealing for witnesses after an 86-year-old man died following a road traffic collision on the M11 this week.

Read more
Addenbrooke's Hospital
Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Fire crews from Stansted, Newport and Great Dunmow were among those called to tackle a lorry blaze on the M11.

Read more
Essex County Fire and Rescue Service
Friday, July 21, 2017

Cyclists taking part in this year’s London Edinburgh London event will pass through Uttlesford on their way to the finish line.

Read more
United Kingdom
Friday, July 14, 2017

Residents have a chance to have their say on the Local Plan draft, after councillors approved the document at a meeting this week.

Read more
District Council
Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Emergency services were called to two crashes in as many hours on the southbound M11 between junctions nine and eight last night.

Read more
Princess Alexandra Hospital
Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Our top tips for this weekend. See the Emperor’s New Clothes, a children’s play at Cambridge Junction. Take a torch to explore Saffron Walden Museum at night. See Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolfe, starring Imelda Staunton without having to go to the West End, it’s showing at Saffron Screen, enjoy the Forgotten Gardens of Easton Lodge.

Read more
Joanna Eden
Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Here are our top tips for this weekend’s outings: Hear the rarely played but ingenious jazz of Dudley Moore at Fairycroft House in Saffron Walden, see steam engines in Newport, or catch Peter Pan in Saffron Walden Town Hall.

Read more
Joanna Eden
Friday, May 5, 2017

The Conservatives came out on top in Uttlesford, holding three seats and gaining one to make it a clean sweep in the Essex County Council elections.

Read more
John Lodge
Sunday, April 23, 2017

Your weekly round-up of crime in Uttlesford.

Read more
Volkswagen
Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Theresa May is trying to create a dictatorship, with parallels to Turkey, according to the leader of the Lib Dem group on Uttlesford District Council, Councillor Alan Dean.

Read more
Uttlesford District Council
Tuesday, April 11, 2017

A black Range Rover was stolen after thieves entered a house in Oziers, Elsenham, and took the keys. The incident took place between 11pm on March 31 and 6.35am on April 1.

Read more
Volkswagen
Monday, April 3, 2017

The front and back number plates of a white Ford Transit van, parked in The Avenue, Great Dunmow, were stolen between 8pm on March 24 and 8.10am on March 25.

Read more
Renault
Monday, March 27, 2017

A bottle of Jamesons’ whiskey was stolen along with £800 in cash from a building in Cambridge Road, Stansted between 11pm on Friday, March 17 and 11am the following morning.

Read more
Essex Police
Friday, March 24, 2017

Three people have been taken to hospital after a four vehicle smash on the M11 northbound this morning.

Read more
Rescue Service
Tuesday, March 21, 2017

A CCTV image has been released of a man police want to speak to in connection with a burglary in Newbiggen Street, Thaxted, at around 2.30am on Thursday, March 2. An upstairs window was forced open and a five-figure sum of cash was stolen.

Read more
Fiat
Tuesday, March 14, 2017

A round-up of crimes reported in Uttlesford in the past week.

Read more
Renault
Friday, March 10, 2017

Stansted Airport celebrated National Apprenticeship Week by welcoming its latest intake of new trainees.

Read more
Chris Wiggan
Thursday, March 9, 2017

If you are wondering what to see or where to go this weekend, here our tips for what’s on in and around Saffron Walden, Dunmow and the surrounding towns.

Read more
Prince
Wednesday, March 8, 2017

A meeting to discuss residents’ concerns about policing in Uttlesford was held between district councillors, officers, and the Essex deputy police and crime commissioner (PCC) last week.

Read more
Howard Rolfe
Tuesday, March 7, 2017

A disqualified driver who failed to stop after a crash in Newport has received a 16-week suspended prison sentence and a four year driving ban.

Read more
Adam Pipe
Monday, March 6, 2017

A Garmin Forerunner watch was reported stolen from outside the front door of the victim’s property in Normansfield, Great Dunmow, on February 25.

Read more
Saffron Walden
Friday, March 3, 2017

Further incidents of illegal hare coursing in the Saffron Walden area have caused thousands of pounds of damage following similar incidents just one week ago.

Read more
Essex Police
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

The M11 was closed southbound for several hours on Tuesday following a crash involving six vehicles – including a lorry.

Read more
Princess Alexandra Hospital
Monday, February 27, 2017

Three incidents of hare coursing took place between February 17 and February 18.

Read more
Newport
Friday, February 24, 2017

Lorries which blew over due to Storm Doris closed the M11 northbound and one lane southbound between Saffron Walden and Duxford yesterday (Thursday, February 23).

Read more
Essex County Fire and Rescue Service

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Dunmow Broadcast e-edition E-edition

Most read stories

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter